UP-TUKS head coach Evangelos Vellios has named a preliminary squad of 40 players for the upcoming Varsity Football competition that is just ten weeks away. The players were selected from a pool of 55 players that were carefully chosen in the beginning of the year through various trials. 

Preparations for the massive tournament have been underway for 3 and a half months and the players have been evaluated through the different leagues that the institution is involved in such as the Super League, the SAB league and Promo league to name a few. Most pundits maintain that a winning team should not be changed but the UP-TUKS technical staff will have a hard time selecting the final squad to represent the team at the tournament due to the exciting new players that have been brought in to reinforce the team.

Without doubt the two-time defending champions will have some pressure to deal with as most teams will be watching them closely as they look to dethrone the defending champions. Head Coach Evangelos Vellios expressed the difficulty that he and his technical team had to deal with to cut down the squad to 40 players and what the teams plans are, “The purpose is to give these 40 players that have been playing for their various teams and being monitored the opportunity to show their development and growth through the year and fight for a position in the final squad of 30 that will be announced on the completion of the 2 week camp”.

The provisional squad of 40 will train as a group for a fortnight then the final 25 players plus 5 back up players will be submitted to Varsity Sports.


Preliminary squad of 40 players:


1.      Dylan Patterson

2.      Jason Stanton

3.      Hasintiana Andriamialy

4.      James Smith

5.      Dave Ribeiro

6.      Mike Faasen




7.      Siphesihle Sosibo

8.      Tyrone Bruchhausen

9.      Lindsay Stowman

10.  Puthego Mabitsela

11.  Pfanu Nevhutalu

12.  Wonga Denga

13.  Nicholas Killas

14.  Simbongile Njokwe

15.  Lawrence Ntswane

16.  Gareth Hudson

17.  Leonel De Mendoca

18.  Simphiwe Sihlangu



19.  Katlego Mothlatsang

20.  Jarryd Van Den Berg

21.  Robin Swartz

22.  Clement Malemone

23.  Khumbulani Siluma

24.  Thabo Ndlovu

25.  Claudio De Almeida

26.  Kabelo Mphake

27.  Frank Mpedi

28.  Jeremiah Nkwana

29.  Dean Wilkinson

30.  Wandile Makhanya



31.  Vuse-Umuze Khoza

32.  Luke Steyl

33.  Jurgen Booysen

34.  Richard Moremi

35.  Odwa Makha

36.  Mbongeni Masilela

37.  Lucky Mathosi

38.  Botshelo Mfulwane

39.  Tebogo Galane

40.  Michael Forbes