Tuks Lift League Trophy After 5 Years

The University of Pretoria women’s team beat the Vaal University of Pretoria 1-0 in the final of the USSA Gauteng Football League on Saturday 11 October 2014 at the Isak Steyl Stadium in the Vaal.

The visitors were first out of the blocks and had the home side under pressure from the first whistle. 6 minutes into the match Ranyawa missed a free header from the far post from an accurate cross from Michael

Moments later Tuks got a free kick in their own half and center back Regina Mogolola beat the VUT keeper to give Tuks the 1-0 lead.

Mazibuko played the ball over the VUT defence to find Ranyawa who beat the offside trap to find herself one –on-one with the keeper but could not out he ball past the keeper.

Tuks took the 1-0 lead into the half time break

Molepo came on for the injured Meissner Raposo during the half time interval

The second half was full of action and agonisingly close calls for both sides but did not provide much in the way of goals.

On five occasions Ranyawa, who had drifted to the right wing beat the off-side trap and also beat the VUT defence for pace to find herself one-on-one with the keeper but could not find the back of the net.

Tuks took the foot off the pedal and allowed the home side to get back into the game. In the 80th minute the VUT won a free kick on Tuks’left flank which found three VUT players unmarked on the far post but none of them could connect with the ball and it sailed over the goal line for a goal kick. Moments later VUT won another free kick which they hit Matshaba’s crossbar

Tuks were able to protect their narrow 1-0 lead right to the end of the match to win the UGFL- AmaTuesdayz trophy which they last won back in 2007.

On their way to the league title the team scored thirty-one goals and conceded three, with ten different goal scorers and Lebogang Mabatle leading that race with 5 goals.

Tuks will head to the USSA Football National Club Championships from 1 - 5 December 2014 at the Durban University of Technology as Provincial Champions.