Tuks Beat UJ to book a place in the Varsity Football Final

The AmaTuks Women’s Varsity team beat the University of Johannesburg 2-1 to advance to the final of the Varsity Football tournament.

Tuks had a few scares in the early minutes of the match but after absorbing the pressure it only took five minutes for the visitors to find the opening goal through Jade Meissner Raposo who received a beautifully weighted ball over the UJ Defence and chipped it over an on-rushing goalkeeper.

Tuks enjoyed a bulk of the possession in the first half and displayed a good passing game.

The visitors’dominance paid off as Jade once again broke through the centre of the UJ defence to score the second goal of the match beating the UJ goalkeeper Basia Michaels in almost identical fashion as the first goal.

Tuks took the 2-0 lead into the half time break.

The home team seemed to used the break effectively to regroup as they had Tuks on the back foot from the first whistle of the second half. UJ launched wave after wave of attack but the Tuks defence stood firm, assisted by some phenomenal goalkeeping by Cailin Whyte. The pressure paid off as the Tuks defence gave away a penalty with twenty minutes still left to play. Precious Matabologa stepped up to take the spot kick. Tuks Keeper Cailin Whyte went the right way but could not get to the ball as the home team pulled one back.

The last ten minutes of the match would have seemed like an eternity for the visiting side as UJ threw everything forward in search of the equaliser. Tuks were able to hang on and protect their one goal advantage to the final whistle; beating the 2013 champions to book their place in the final.

Jade Meissner Raposo was named the Super Striker and Cailin Whyte received the award for Woman of the Match.

It will  be a Pretoria Derby as Tuks faces cross-town rivals TUT Pretoria in the tournament final to be hosted at the UJ Soweto Campus on Monday, 15 September 2014. Kick Off is at 16h00.

UP-Tuks Starting XI: 26 Cailin Whyte, 15 Pretty Mosoane, 8 Jabulile Mazibuko, 12 Mavhangu Manyana, 13 Regina Mogolola, 14 Phidah Chego, 11 Mapotlakele Maserumule, 17 Alexandra Michael, 7 Jade Meissner Raposo, 20 Sonia Shako, 5 Molatela Molepo.

Subs: 18 Lucia Tsoku, 21 Amerije Pawukumar, 19 Natasha De Almeida.

UJ Starting XI: 1 Basia Michaels, 17 Chwayita Quwe, 10 Precious Matabologa, 5 Shifa Fredericks, 8 Neo Matabologe, 6 Esther Gumede, 15 Maphuthi Manamela, 13 Shadi Matenche, 4 Nonkosi Twayise, 2 Boitumelo Mbalati, 9 Prudence Setalisi.

Subs: 7 Molemo Mashigo, 3 Lindiwe Daki, 11 Nkazimulo Tshabalala, 14 Degracia Aphane, 16 Thandi Shai, 12 Silidonkuhle Dayimane.