The University of Pretoria FC, AmaTuks travelled to Bloemfontein on Sunday 28 October 2012, to face Bloemfontein Celtic at the Free State Stadium.

AmaTuks started comfortable on the ball, winning two corners in the opening minutes of the game. The first chance of the half fell to Mame Niang. In the second minute of the match Niang received a cross from a corner kick, but his header was saved by the Celtic keeper Patrick Tignyemb.

AmaTuks took the lead in the eighteenth minute of the game through a Niang goal. He headed the ball into the net after the Celtic goal keeper was forced to parry a shot by Aubrey Ngoma.

Minutes later, in the twenty first minute, Niang got another chance at goal. He fired a shot that went narrowly wide of the right hand post.

Celtic levelled the score in the 43rd minute of the game. They were awarded an indirect free kick in the box after the AmaTuks goal keeper Washington Arubi handled the ball for more than six seconds. Arubi managed to block the shot from Auguston Leonard, but Letladi Madubanya was there to roll the ball over the AmaTuks goal line. Making the score line 1-1 going into the half time break.

AmaTuks made their first substitution at the start of the second half with Tebogo Monyai coming on for Siyabonga Shoyisa.

Celtic got a chance at goal in the 58th minute. Madubanya found Lyle Lakay unmarked in the far post, forcing AmaTuks keeper Arubi to make a magnificent save.

AmaTuks took the lead again in the 71st minute through a Bongani Zungu goal. Aubrey Ngoma made a through pass to Zungu on the right flank, beating the Celtic defence; he slotted a neat goal past the Celtic goal keeper, putting AmaTuks 2-1 up.

Celtic had a few opportunities to level the score towards the end of the game, but were denied any goals by the AmaTuks keeper.

The win against Celtic places AmaTuks second on the Log with fifteen points, after eight games.


Bloemfontein Celtic: Tignyemb, Nthethe, Mzava (Motshegwa 77’), Motlhaping, Leonard, Mogorosi (Gamildien 65’), Madubanya, Lakay, Arwuah, Bacela, Manzini (Nyanda 78’)

 University of Pretoria: Arubi, Shoyisa (Monyai 46’), Mphahlele, Bishop, Matsi, Selolwane (Ngwenya 64’), Mkhwanazi, Ngoma (Lubelo 89’), Ketjijere, Niang, Zungu