Thabo Mosadi's opener was cancelled out by a Rudi Isaacs header. Man of the match Atusaye Nyondo  sealed the victory for AmaTuks late in the second half.The University Of Pretoria progressed to the last 16 of the Nedbank Cup for the first time in 5 years after they defeated Moroka Swallows 2-1 at the Tuks stadium.

Tebogo Monyai lived up to his pre-match comments that AmaTuks would beat the Dube Birds after he led his team to a maiden cup victory in the Nedbank Cup since promotion form the National First Division.

Thabo Mosadi scored the first goal of the match in the 7th minute when he received the ball from Thabo Mnyamane and slotted it through the legs of Obren Cuckovic. AmaTuks missed chances in the first 30 minutes and Rudi Isaacs punished them with a fine header in the 35th minute.

The Dube Birds controlled the match for the remaining ten minutes and headed into halftime the better of the two teams.

Moroka Swallows continued where they left off and dominated possession in the early stages of the second half.

Atusaye Nyondo capitalised on a defensive error by Moroka Swallows and chipped the ball over Cuckovic to score his 6th goal of the season. Despite the Dube Bird’s best efforts to try and get a goal AmaTuks kept them at bay and progressed to the last 16.

The AmaTuks fans got to see the full debut of the prodigal son Davis Nkausu who lasted the whole 90 minutes. Sammy Troughton was happy with the result but felt his team deserved more, “We stared of well and missed a number of chances in the opening stages of the match but we didn’t finish both halves the way we would’ve wanted to, we allowed them too much ball possession and we reverted to long balls and desperation and I’m disappointed in that regard but delighted with the victory.”

AmaTuks: Washington Arubi, Davis Nkausu, Siyabonga Shoyisa, Tebogo Monyai, Partson Jaure, Mpho Matsi, Thabo Mnyamane, Thabo Mosadi, Denver Mukamba, Atusaye Nyondo, Geoffrey Massa

Moroka Swallows: Obren Cuckovic, Rudi Isaacs, Luvhengo Mungomeni, Giulio Giuricich, Dikgang Mabalane, Lucky Baloyi, Vladimir Mandic, Mthokozisi Yende, Luyolo Nomandela, Edwin Sitayitayi, Felix Obada